Member
From: South Africa, Port Elizabeth
Registered: 2006-08-23
Posts: 1803
I've been thanked 33 times.
Offline
Im now quite well mostly confused... The big G is supposed to take its sweet bladdy time before indexing pages... yahoo and msn follow suit... Correct? Then why the HELL has google indexed 7 pages of my test site (G) - MSN has simply "made up" 7 pages on my website (M) <they really dont exist> - Yahoo has three links "to" my site (Y)
which im fairly certain i had nothing to do with....
I guess i can be blamed to an extent simply because i havent added the mass of no-index tags but seriously? i havent got any meta info what so ever, the site has been deleted and uploaded from scratch about three times, the site is in a directory called test so that www.africasbig5.com leads to an arbitrary page that doesnt link to the actual site...
Doesnt make sense why i am being indexed so quickly? or perhaps its the css doing it... HA HA HA Take a bite outa that Dave
----- seriously though... WTF? - I even have an ALEXA Rank!!! my GWEMA site took 3 months before that happened!!! (the domain name is 6 years old though... think that may play a role?)
My up and coming... soon to be real website... www.thewebguy.co.za (one day i will finish it
)Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 2669
I've been thanked 63 times.
Offline
nah,
Google indexes sites within hours (sometimes minutes) of them going live, if you've done things right.
Now, getting your site to appera in the SERPs for a keyword? This takes a little longer......
Internet Marketing Books
Promote Yourself on Site Reference!
Member
From: South Africa, Port Elizabeth
Registered: 2006-08-23
Posts: 1803
I've been thanked 33 times.
Offline
i hope it doesnt get picked up for any keywords.... i get smacked for duplicate content
Good to know, id hate to think people were stumbling onto it before its finished, that would be messy. Whats the story with msn though? why are they pulling up fake pages? any ideas?
My up and coming... soon to be real website... www.thewebguy.co.za (one day i will finish it
)Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 2669
I've been thanked 63 times.
Offline
Ryan_steyn wrote:
though? why are they pulling up fake pages? any ideas?
The pages existed at some point, click on the 'cached' link and see if you recognise the page
Internet Marketing Books
Promote Yourself on Site Reference!
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 2669
I've been thanked 63 times.
Offline

Ryan, do you (ie, english speaking people in south africa) speak/spell with british english, american english, or something else?
just curious 
Internet Marketing Books
Promote Yourself on Site Reference!
Member
From: South Africa, Port Elizabeth
Registered: 2006-08-23
Posts: 1803
I've been thanked 33 times.
Offline
hmmm... thats a toughy, alot of south Africans speak with a very mixed type of english using afrikaans to fill in gaps that their IQ couldn't reach.... but i was brought using British English, half my family is from england so its in my blood. Spelling is an odd ball though, we spell things like "organise" instead of "organize" and "color" is spelt "colour". You will find that because SA was under British rule that the majority of English speaking people are in fact using British English, especially if descended from a British family - there would have been a grandfather who would clip you upside the head if you pronounced things the wrong way. Unfortunately though spell checkers normally stuff us around because its either staunch UK or American spelling. If you want a laugh, watch that brad pitt movie "blood diamond" (i think its brad pitt) - he does a really bad rip off of a South African accent... but is fairly close to the first "IQ deprived" version i mentioned.
Out of curiosity, why?
My up and coming... soon to be real website... www.thewebguy.co.za (one day i will finish it
)| Never |


